Community Health & Safety Certifications
To register please call 914-606-6830 and press option 1
New York State Boating Safety Course
The New York State required 8-hour course on the safe operation of boats and personal watercraft. The law in New York requires the following people to have a boating safety certificate:
• Operator of motorboats born on or after May 1, 1996 must complete a boater safety course.
• PWC operators (Jet Ski) must be at least 14 years of age and either hold a boating safety certificate or be accompanied by someone over 18 years of age who is the holder of a boating safety certificate.
This course is for anyone who wants to learn boating safety and how to conduct safe boat operations as well as those who want the certificate. At the end of the class, take a closed book exam. With the minimum passing score of 76%, you will earn the NYS Boating Safety certificate. Must be a minimum of 10 years old to take the course. All materials provided.
Find out more at https://parks.ny.gov/recreation/boating/safety-courses.aspx The instructor, Sgt. Christopher E. Vega, is a certified NYS boat safety instructor, NYC police officer, former U.S. Marine and member of the NY Naval Militia.
CE-CERTS 2050, 1 Sat., 9:00 am-5:00 pm, $60 (+ additional $10 certificate fee, payable to NYS Parks Department for those 18 years of age and older). C Vega.
Sec. A: Sept. 22, KNC-5. #83502
Sec. B: Oct. 27, KNC-4. #83503
Sec. C: Nov. 17, KNC-2. #83504
Sec. D: Dec. 15, KNC-5. #83505
American Red Cross Babysitter’s Training
For youth planning to babysit, get the knowledge and skills necessary to safely and responsibly give care for children and infants. Develop leadership skills; plan a babysitting business, keep yourself and others safe and help children behave; and learn basic childcare and basic first aid. For ages 11-15 years old. Bring a bag meal.
CE-CERTS 2031, $90 (+ $11 ARC certification fee, + optional $15 for ARC Babysitter’s Training Set, payable to instructor). A Reeve.
Sec. A: 1 Sun., Nov. 18, 11:00 am-6:00 pm, KNC-3. #83179
Sec. B: 1 Sat., Dec. 1, 9:00 am-4:00 pm, KNC-2. #83180
Heartsaver Adult/Child CPR/AED
American Heart Association CPR/AED course covering children ages 1 up to adults. Certification good for two years. For the lay responder. Must bring resuscitation mask. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org prior to the class.
1 Sat., 9:00 am-1:00 pm, $65 (+ $5 for AHA certification card, payable to instructor. J Lederman.
At Valhalla Campus: CE-HCARE 2006, Oct. 6, PEB-4. #83151
At Ossining Center: CE-HCARE 2006OS, Oct. 20. #82407
Safety 1st Defensive Driving
The NYS Point and Insurance Reduction Program (6-hr. Defensive Driving Course) has many benefits, including learning safe driving techniques, discounts on your automobile insurance if you are the principle operator, and point reduction from your driver’s license. Sponsored by American Safety, Inc. Must attend both meetings for certification.
CE-DRIVE 2003, W/Th, Oct. 17 & 18, 6:00-
9:00 pm, AAB-304, $35 (+ $15 for certification and handouts, payable to instructor). M DeToma. #83061
Drivers Pre-Licensing Class
Required five-hour pre-licensing class needed to earn your MV-278 and schedule your road test. Bring learner’s permit to class. This course is open to those 16 years of age and older. Call 914-606-7406 to register.
At Ossining Center: CE-DRIVE 2001OS, 1 Sun., 9:00 am-2:00 pm, $55. T Gomes.
Sec. A: Sept. 16. #83286
Sec. B: Oct. 14. #83287
Sec. C: Nov. 11. #83288
Sec. D: Dec. 2. #83289